21st Century - Mathematics

Eva Bayer-Fluckiger

Eva Bayer-Fluckiger (born 25 June 1951) is a Hungarian and Swiss mathematician. She is an Emmy Noether Professor Emeritus at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne. She has worked on several topics in topology, algebra and number theory, e.g. on the theory of knots, on lattices, on quadratic forms and on Galois cohomology. Along with Raman Parimala, she proved Serre’s conjecture II regarding the Galois cohomology of a simply-connected semisimple algebraic group when such a group is of classical type.[1]

Early life and career

Bayer-Fluckiger was born in Budapest, Hungary.[2] She attended the University of Geneva, where she obtained her doctorate under supervision of Michel Kervaire in 1978.[3] She was a visiting scholar at the Institute for Advanced Study from 1983 to 1984. Since 1990, she is an executive committee member of the European Mathematical Society[4] and since 2006 served on editorial board of its Commentarii Mathematici Helvetici.[5]


In 2001, the Essen College of Gender Studies gave Bayer-Fluckiger their Maria Sibylla Merian Prize, “for her achievements and her commitment in the French and European Association of Woman Mathematicians”.[6] She was named a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society, in the 2022 class of fellows, “for contributions to number theory, algebra, and topology, and for service to the profession”.[7]


  1. ^ Bayer-Fluckiger, E.; Parimala, R. (1995). “Galois cohomology of the classical groups over fields of cohomological dimension ≤ 2”. Inventiones Mathematicae122: 195–229. doi:10.1007/BF01231443S2CID 124673233.
  2. ^ “Prof. Dr. Eva Bayer-Fluckiger – Maria Sibylla Merian-Preisträgerin 2001”. Retrieved 14 May 2019.
  3. ^ Eva Bayer-Fluckiger at the Mathematics Genealogy Project
  4. ^ Institute for Advanced Study: A Community of Scholars Retrieved 14 May 2019.
  5. ^ “Commentarii Mathematici Helvetici”. European Mathematical Society. Retrieved 14 May 2019.
  6. ^ “Maria Sibylla Merian-Prize”. University of Duisburg-Essen. Retrieved 18 Jun 2020.
  7. ^ “2022 Class of Fellows of the AMS”. American Mathematical Society. Retrieved 2021-11-05.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *